Random Monday


What’s going on gang?  I hope you all had a great weekend and are ready to get after it this week.  How was my weekend?  It was good, thanks for asking.  I’m a big fan of Lord of the Rings, Star Wars, Back to the Future, etc (No wonder girls didn’t like me in high school).  In fact, I saw all 3 Lord of the Rings movies by myself the nights they came out, so you get the idea here.  Admittedly, I’ve never seen the Harry Potter series, so my girlfriend (who loves Harry and the gang) and I decided to take this weekend and watch the first 5 movies being that Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows will be coming out later this month.I have to admit, it was pretty sweet, especially being able to watch all of them back to back to back to back to back.  I’m glad there’s only 2 weeks to go before it comes out, Malfoy is going down!

Last night, I’m watching the Eagles v. Colts with my Dad and brothers, and the trailer for Call of Duty:  Black Ops comes on.  If you haven’t seen it, here it is.Needless to say, we were all floored that Activision would promote the game this way.  The commercial clearly glorifies war as if it’s a game.  I found it completely offensive, especially to the men and women who serve our country.  Activision was irresponsible in promoting the game in a fashion which depicts war as a game and desensitizes kids to the fact that war is a horrible thing and that people actually die in real life war.  I’m still pissed about it.  I hope the game gets pulled and Activision goes under.

On another note, my girlfriend and I are looking for apartments in Center City Philadelphia.  She’s waiting to hear back from Drexel University if she’s been accepted to their PT program and we need to move as close as possible to make things easier on her.  Basically, it came down to living in Jenkintown or Center City.  The drive to BucksFit for me every morning would be roughly the same either way, thus we’re looking in Center City.  Plus, living in the City is pretty kick ass!  If you guys (and gals) have any suggestions of where to live, I’d love to hear your input.

Now, some fitness related stuff (which is why you’re here).  Peter Hand, a former client of mine who moved to New York a couple of years ago and brother of Joey Hand, a current client of mine of 5 years, ran the New York City Marathon this weekend and completed the race in just over 4 hours!  I want to send a big congrats out to him, as that race puts one hell of a toll on the body and is quite the mental battle for 26.2 miles.  Nice work bud!  With that said, check out this recent article by Eric Bofinger, B.S, C.S.C.S, in regards to distance running and strength training.  Not only is Eric extremely knowledgeable when it comes to distance running, but he was an accomplished distance runner himself at Messiah College.  If you’re a runner looking to improve your form, try adding some of these form running drills (Step Over Run, High Knee, Heel Flick, Gallop) at a 2 x 15 yard clip for each exercise.

For any questions, comments, or inquiries, email Chris at aelitefitness@gmail.com.  Have a great start to the week and an even stronger finish!

Leave a Reply

